Erik Erikson’ s Theory of Psychosocial Development

erik eriksonAKA Erik Homburger Erikson

Born: June 15, 1902
Birthplace: Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Died: May 12, 1994
Location of death: Harwich, MA
Cause of death: unspecified
Religion: Jewish
Race or Ethnicity: White
Occupation: Psychologist

Nationality: United States
Executive summary: Eight Stages of Childhood

Stages Developmental Task or Conflict to be Resolved
Oral-Sensory (birth to 1 year) Trust vs. mistrust. Babies learn either to trust or to mistrust that other will care for their basic needs including nourishment, sucking, warmth, cleanliness and physical contact.
Musculo-anal (1-3 years) Autonomy vs. shame and doubt. Children learn either to be self sufficient in many activities, including toileting, feeding, walking and talking or to doubt their own abilities.
Locomotor-Genital (3-5 years) .Initiative vs. guilt. Children want to undertake many adultlike activities, sometimes overstepping the limits set by parents and feeling guilty.
Latency ( 6-11 years) Industry vs. inferiority. Children busily learn to be competent and productive or feel inferior and unable to do anything well.
Adolescence (12-18 years) Identity vs. role confusion. Adolescents try to figure out “Who Am I?”. They establish sexual, ethnic, and career identities, or are confused about what future roles to play.
Young Adulthood (19-35 years) Intimacy vs. isolation. Young adults seek companionship and love with another person or become isolated from others.
Adulthood (35-50 years) Generativity vs. stagnation. Middle aged adults are productive, performing meaningful work, and raising a family, or become stagnant and inactive.
Maturity (50+ years) Integrity vs. despair. Older adults try to make sense out of their lives, either seeing life as  a meaningful whole or despairing at goals never reached and questions never answered.

Daisy Jane Antipuesto RN MN

Currently a Nursing Local Board Examination Reviewer. Subjects handled are Pediatric, Obstetric and Psychiatric Nursing. Previous work experiences include: Clinical instructor/lecturer, clinical coordinator (Level II), caregiver instructor/lecturer, NC2 examination reviewer and staff/clinic nurse. Areas of specialization: Emergency room, Orthopedic Ward and Delivery Room. Also an IELTS passer.

What Do You Think?